Payroll South Dakota, Special Aspects of South Dakota Payroll Law and Practice
South Dakota has no State Income Tax. There for there is no State Agency to oversee withholding deposits and reports. There are no State W2's to file, no supplement wage withholding rates and no State W2's to file.
Not all states allow salary reductions created below Section tour cash advances online 125 cafeteria plans or 401(k) to be treated in the same manner as the IRS code permits. In South Dakota cafeteria plans are taxable for unemployment insurance purposes. 401(k) strategy deferrals are taxable unemployment purposes.
South Dakota doesn't have income tax.
The South Dakota State Unemployment Insurance Agency is:
Department of Labor
Unemployment Insurance Division
Box 4730, 420 S. Roosevelt St.
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730
The State of South Dakota taxable wage base for unemployment purposes is wages up to $7,000.00.
South Dakota has optional reporting of quarterly wages on magnetic media.
Unemployment records should be retained in South Dakota for a minimum period of four years. This details normally includes: name social security number dates of hire, rehire and termination wages by period payroll pay periods and spend dates date and circumstances of termination.
The South Dakota State Agency charged with enforcing the state wage and hour laws is:
Department of Labor
Division of Labor and Management
700 Governors Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
The minimum wage in South Dakota is $five.15 per hour.
There is also no general provision in South Dakota State Law covering paying overtime in a non-FLSA covered employer.
South Dakota State new hire reporting needs are that each employer ought to report each new hire and rehire. The employer should report the federally needed elements of:
Employee's social security number
Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)
This data ought to be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The data can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is a civil proceeding for a petty offense for a late report in South Dakota.
The South Dakota new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 888-827-6078 or on the web at Dakota does enable compulsory direct deposit but the employee's option of financial institution must meet federal Regulation E regarding selection of financial institutions.
South Dakota has no State Wage and Hour Law provisions concerning spend stub info.
South Dakota requires that employee be paid no less frequently than monthly.
In South Dakota there are no statutory requirements concerning the lag time between when the services are performed and when the employee must be paid.
South Dakota payroll law calls for that involuntarily terminated staff must be paid their final spend by subsequent standard payday if all employer property is returned and that voluntarily terminated personnel analyze cash advances online must be paid their final pay by the subsequent standard payday if all employer property is returned.
There is no provision in South Dakota law concerning paying deceased personnel.
Escheat laws in South Dakota require that unclaimed wages be paid more than to the state right after one year.
The employer is additional necessary in South Dakota to maintain a record of the wages abandoned and turned more than to the state for a period of ten years.
South Dakota payroll law mandates no more than $3.02 may possibly be used as a tip credit.
In the South Dakota payroll law there is no provision research cash advances online covering necessary rest or meal periods.
South Dakota statute needs that wage and hour records be kept for a reasonable period. These records will normally consist of at least the information necessary under FLSA.
The South Dakota agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Workplace of Kid Support Enforcement
Department of Social Services
700 Governor's Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Dakota has the following provisions for kid assistance deductions:
When to commence Withholding? Next payday after service.
When to send Payment? Inside 7 days of Payday.
When to send Termination Notice? Within 5 days of termination.
Maximum Administrative Fee? no provision
Withholding Limits? 50% of earnings.
Please note that this post is not updated for alterations that can and will take place from time to time.